Home > Dating, feminism, Life > Don’t Put a Ring on It

Don’t Put a Ring on It

One of the featured WordPress blogs today is titled “Get a Ring on It: How to Get Your Significant Other to Propose.”

Apparently, the way to get a guy (or woman, if you’re in a progressive state) to propose marriage isn’t any of the things you’d normally expect.

It’s not good food. It’s not interesting conversation. It’s not affection and support. And no, it’s not that, either, although I’m sure that can’t hurt.

So what’s the way to get your significant other to propose? Take him or her to Europe.

From my viewpoint, there are three things wrong with that advice.

First, I do want to get married someday, but not right now. If I could snag the marriage proposal now and keep it in a safe deposit box for a few years, that would be ideal.

Second, I’ve already been to Europe so much that I’d like to go someplace else. Would that work as well, marriage proposal-wise? I was thinking maybe of a nice Caribbean beach with swimming in the day and dancing at night. Or go see ancient temples in India or Thailand or China. I’ve never been to those places. If we really wanted to live dangerously, we could drive up the road to Smith, but I couldn’t guarantee our safety. You know those wild Smithies. 🙂

Third, I don’t have a serious “significant other” right now. I’ve got friends, but nobody I see as a partner for life. (Penn Badgley, if you ever read this, I’m easy to find.)

The days are over when we have to hurry up and get married as soon as possible. If somebody else wants to do it, then I’ll be happy to serve as a bridesmaid and drink champagne at the wedding. But for me, for now, it’s school and studies.


Copyright 2011 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. February 10, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Ha! I love it! Don’t Put a Ring on It….that was totally me about 6 years ago. Literally that’s exactly what I told him, at least not until we were both ready. Best of luck to you in your studies, and cheers to snagging Penn Badgley! 😉

    • February 10, 2011 at 10:04 am

      Hi, OneBigMix —

      Thanks for coming by!

      If I get Penn, do you want me to send Chace Crawford your way? 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

