Home > Life, Neuroscience and Psychology, School > Slightly Sad in Shadley

Slightly Sad in Shadley

I was feeling happy earlier this evening, but now I’m a little depressed.

Maybe it’s hitting me that this is my last semester in Shadley. I’ve got exciting classes this spring, and one of them looks difficult. Those are the ones that make you stretch, grow, learn, and achieve things that you never thought you could do.

But I’m thinking, after May, that’s it. No more coffee at the Dirty. No more Skinner Green. No more Blanchard. Most of all, no more seeing my friends and teachers every day. I’ll miss that. They’re part of who I am. So is Shadley. Always will be.

I’ll come back for reunions and events of course, but I’ll also be busy with graduate education and life. Shadley will have to fit into that schedule.

Wait a second. That was all true earlier this evening when I felt happy. And I know from some of my neuroscience and psychology classes that highs alternate with lows. The reason I feel low now is that I was emotionally high before. I mean, I’m still sad that I’ll be leaving Shadley after graduation, but that’s not the important thing right now. Even the Bible says it:

Don’t worry about tomorrow, because tomorrow will take care of itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:34)

The important thing right now is to enjoy this semester and make the most of it. To study. To spend time with my friends. To let my professors know how much I appreciate all the things they’ve taught me and how much they’ve encouraged me. To walk around campus and make a memory picture that I can take with me wherever I go.

I feel better now. This is going to be a great semester.


Copyright 2011 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. Sarah-Wade
    January 28, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Ask my friends or family- this post could have totally been an excerpt out of my journal during my senior year! (MHC Class of 2004)
    I had one of my best semesters during the spring of senior year, but oh, was it ever hard to leave. That first year out was tough for all of us, maybe more so for some (like me) than others. But that transition was another opportunity for growth just as the 4 year at MHC were also. And as time passed, I kept in touch with my moho friends, I revisited the college, and I started figuring out what I really wanted to do with my life. I realized that graduation wasn’t the end of a great thing – I hadn’t lost Mount Holyoke – it was part of the journey, and I was now part of an even bigger community: ALUMNAE!
    Best wishes this semester – Enjoy!
    Sarah-Wade

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

