Home > Beauty, Dating, fashion, feminism, Funny Stuff, Guys, Life > My Top 10 Lies of 2010

My Top 10 Lies of 2010

This doesn’t look much like me. And that’s the truth.

I definitely do not endorse lying. But I would be lying if I said that I never did it.

The best I can say is that I don’t do it to hurt anyone. If there is such a thing as “white lies,” I claim that mine fall into that category.

Anyway, here are my top 10 lies of 2010:

1. “I’m 21.”

Before I turned 21 this year, I told that lie a few times. Of course, I would never, ever use fake ID to back it up. Never never. Honestly, hardly ever.

2. “I weigh 110.”

Yeah, right. Nobody believed that one, but they were nice and pretended to believe it.

3. “I’m a complete ditz with computers.”

Actually, I’m not. But there was a cute tech support guy at the hospital where I had my summer internship. He showed me lots of moves that I already knew about. On the computer, I mean.

4. “It’s just the right size.”

A guy I was dating asked if the passenger seat of his car was comfortable for me. Actually, it was a little small, but I know how sensitive guys can be about their cars. And if you want to read that as a metaphor for something else, feel free. 🙂

5. “I’ll be ready in two minutes.”

Make that 20 minutes. But there’s a reason. If you make a guy wait a little while (but not too long), the anticipation makes him more eager and excited.

6. “I just wear whatever is in the closet.”

Uh-uh. Not even at school, where our style of dress is very casual. I’m no Serena van der Woodsen, but I do my best to look good.

7. “It was only $50.”

My Alice + Olivia cardigan was really over $200, but it is comfortable, tres sexy, and worth every penny. And I bought it with my own money: I just didn’t want the ‘rents to bug me about it.

8. “I absolutely love basketball!”

When you’re dealing with testosterone, you have to make a few compromises. I don’t care much about basketball but I like the guy. So it’s only fair to do some things that he likes to do. Besides the obvious.

9. “I’m only going to eat a little bit of that.”

A serving of ice cream has no calories if you only eat half, so that’s what I did on Mountain Day. Half of this serving, and half of that one. It ended up being more than a little bit, but it was good!

10. “It’s my natural hair color.”

No, it’s another miracle of modern chemistry. But I’m glad you like it. 🙂


Copyright 2010 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. David
    December 30, 2010 at 9:49 am

    It’s ok to obscure the truth to someone who has no right to the information…thus, if you’re in Nazi Germany, and they knock on your door and ask if you’re harboring Jews, it’s alright to lie.

    On #3 and #8, is it so hard to let the guy know that you really just want to spend time with him? It would floor me if a girl I liked told me that they’d do it because I wanted to. In fact, I’d probably go to a zillion chick flicks if she’d go to one football game (not basketball…) with me…These days, no one cares about the exact poundage except you…if you’re shaped right, I’d bite…:)

  2. December 30, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Hi, David 🙂

    Very true! Thanks for the thoughtful comment. You might have guessed that I wasn’t being totally serious in this blog, but I agree with what you said. One thing about basketball, though, and I might be wrong. The guy doesn’t want you to go to a game just because he likes it; he feels better if you enjoy it, too. So I pretend to enjoy it a little more than I really do. That’s what I consider a “white lie.”

    About your airport security comment, another thought. Nobody knows who Gossip Girl is: it’s just the person who runs the gossip Web site. So it might or might not be a thrill for a TSA person to grope her. In the last episode of the second season, everyone thought it was someone at the high school, maybe even Serena’s brother!

  3. David
    December 30, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    That’s true, it flatters a guy to know you’re into what he’s into, as well. And if you’re into him, and it continues, you’d better start loving basketball…:)

  4. January 14, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    My personal favorite is #3. That’s how I snagged my hubby, after all…

    • January 14, 2011 at 10:51 pm

      Hi Lee Lee!

      Thanks for stopping by! You mean McKnight? I didn’t know that.

      Guys love to rescue us, even if we don’t need rescuing. And I’m totally fine about that. It’s all part of the dance. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

