Home > fashion, feminism, Movies and TV, School > Win a “Gossip Girl” Ring

Win a “Gossip Girl” Ring

Shine Media is giving away the same ring that Vanessa wore in the "Gossip Girl" episode "A Touch of Eva."

Win a “Gossip Girl” ring by Sorrelli Jewelry!

Not here, of course. Most of my money goes either for books at the bookshop or for coffee at The Dirty.

But Shine Media is giving away the ring that Jessica Szohr wore in last week’s “Gossip Girl” episode, “A Touch of Eva.”

Shine Media is a Manhattan public relations firm that represents fashion designers. Having their fashions appear on “Gossip Girl” is the best advertisement that designers could have.

School is great this term but I have a couple of really tough classes. I’m keeping my A average but working extra hard to do it. It’s on my mind so much that I’m even only half paying attention to “Gossip Girl.”

Speaking of “A”s, I did see the movie “Easy A” and it was hilarious. I wish that I’d thought of that in high school. Yes, Penn Badgley from “Gossip Girl” was in it, and I still have a crush on him. 🙂

I like our new college president. And as usual, there are controversies, like the one about having Princeton philosopher Peter Singer speak on campus. He’s against eating meat because he thinks that animals are just as important as people. I disagree with that idea, although I’m kind of a wannabe vegetarian and am against cruel treatment of any living thing. Except maybe bugs, but even those I try to catch and put outside when I can. The fact that people are more important than animals does not mean that animals’ welfare or suffering doesn’t matter.

Oh, by the way, the controversy about Dr. Singer has nothing to do with vegetarianism. It’s mainly about his belief that it’s okay to take innocent human life. You can make up arguments for almost any idea, no matter how crazy. On the other hand, if we only listen to people with whom we agree, then we can’t test or develop our own beliefs. So I will listen to him.

Well, if I expect to keep my A, I should get back to studying. I hope that you are having a great October!

Ttfn …


Copyright 2010 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. David
    October 26, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    What a dilemma! He’s vegetarian because he thinks it’s wrong to kill animals, but he’s ok with killing any human being? I think I would have trouble sitting still during his lecture…

    • October 26, 2010 at 10:46 pm

      Hi David —

      I agree with you that Dr. Singer’s ideas are very wrong. But he obviously believes them, so at least I want to be polite. Yelling at him won’t change his mind, but a respectful hearing and some thoughtful replies might do it. He’ll be speaking in a couple of weeks, so we’ll see. Maybe I will write a blog about it if there’s time. I hope that you are doing fine!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

