Home > Life, School > Rinth’s Really Bad Poetry

Rinth’s Really Bad Poetry

This is some really bad poetry I wrote because I’m exhausted from final exams and feeling sad about leaving college for the summer. You might not feel that way about your school, but we do about ours. It means a lot to us.

Anyway, this poetry is really, really bad. You have been warned. 🙂

Walking Fearless into the Darkness

In the night after final exams,
I walk into the darkness,
I’m not afraid, maybe I should be,
(Though probably not, not here),
But I’m at home and I feel the warmth,
The lights on the street penetrate me,
Awakening memories in my mind and body.

In my thoughts, emotions, and flesh,
I recall the moments, the hours, the days:
Sharing heart with my friends,
Sharing ideas with my teachers,
Sharing embrace with a lover,
Or two, or just a nice someone
As an evening companion, or more.

The experiences and ideas,
Sights and sounds and touches,
They held me close,
They opened me up,
They poured themselves into me,
And made me more than I was before.

Soon I will leave here for a few months,
But I won’t ever be away, not from here,
Because here is something I carry with me,
In my mind and spirit, in the life that stretches
Before me, so much wider from what
I’ve learned and done and experienced,
And even more by the cherished ones who
Have led me and followed me and walked
Beside me, and who always shared their spirit.

Can I feel your breath on my face,
Your heat against my body,
Or is it the breath of possibility
And the heat of adventure, the shining
Stars of life that lie ahead, of a journey
To whatever comes, and even more
To whoever comes with it.

We will make the journey together,
All of us here, in the past and future,
For me, one more year in this place,
But for this place, forever in me.

And we can’t make the world,
But we can make a piece of it,
And it will be better than it was
Because of what happened here
And those of us it happened to.


Copyright 2010 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. David
    May 17, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I hope you have a great summer, and that it won’t be all summer that I don’t ‘see’ you here. God bless you!

    • Rinth de Shadley
      May 17, 2010 at 7:57 pm

      Hi David —

      Thank you! I hope that you have a great summer too! This is my personal blog, not my school blog, so I’ll be around. 🙂

      I have a summer job at a hospital near where I live, so maybe I can blog about that. Or maybe not, because I know that there are laws about keeping hospital information confidential and I wouldn’t want to break them.

      You are in California, right? That must be wonderful.

      • David
        May 18, 2010 at 11:42 am

        Yeah, and Northern Cali at that. Unusually, it’s raining lately. But it never gets real hot in the Bay Area.

        Regarding HIPPA, as long as you don’t give personal info (and you’re good at that, wisely, with yourself) you can talk about anything you want. Just think, like a priest, secrecy just means no personal info. Like I had a conversation with my pastor about our finances without my wife around, and then the priest went and asked my wife something, in public, about our finances. He didn’t stay our pastor for long. We moved to a different parish…

        Don’t work too hard, enjoy decompressing to some degree…

        The only thing I don’t like is the political climate here, but I just don’t pay much attention to it. When I vote, I’m obedient to the Church, not liberal or conservative. I don’t think any of them listen to us at that level, though. So I pray a lot!

        God bless you and keep you safe…

  2. Rinth
    February 8, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    It’s a really sweet poem :). And I think, regardless of if we regularly write poetry or not, sometimes it just feels better expressing certain things in a poetic structure. I especially like the two final paras. Really nice :)!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

