Home > Life, News, School > Where Not to Be on Saturday Night

Where Not to Be on Saturday Night

Are you awake, or asleep and dreaming? How do you know which is which?

It’s a good night not to be in New York if you’re scared of bomb threats. Or Boston if you want a drink of water. Or the Gulf of Mexico if you want to take a swim without getting oil all over you.

Lucky me, I’m not in any of those places.

I finally got to see the new boathouse, which was great.  Exercised. And spent the evening having fun with friends. Then I studied for about a half hour but just didn’t have the enthusiasm for it on a Saturday night.

Now I’m getting ready to go to bed, since I was up so late last night. Hmm. I might dream of Penn Badgley and I don’t have anything to wear. Oh, well, as soon as I fall asleep, I’ll dream about going to Saks and get some things.

Study day tomorrow. It has been a great semester but I’m ready for summer. Thanks to my Dad, I got a summer job at a hospital close to home, just a couple miles away in fact. That’s better than last summer when I was a restaurant server, which was fun sometimes but didn’t give me experience that might help in medical school (if I decide to go). Speaking of med school, of course, I’m taking the MCAT in June, which will give me my score in July. I could have taken it earlier but I didn’t really need to, and I wanted a little time to decompress after this semester’s final exams the second week in May. That will also give me some time to study for it.

An interesting question before I go to bed: How do we really know which part of our lives is awake, and which part is asleep and dreaming? We think we know, because things make sense when we’re awake. But when we think we’re asleep, things that happen in our dreams also make sense to us.  So which is which? Maybe you will wake up tomorrow morning to find out that you were just dreaming your life and that you’re actually me. And maybe I’ll wake up tomorrow morning to find out that I’m actually you. Wouldn’t that be wild? You could take my final exams for me. But promise that you’ll study for them, okay? 🙂


Copyright 2010 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. David
    May 3, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Good luck on your exams, and the MCAT. Pray for the safety of our country. I have relatives that think all three might be terrorist attacks. I think one or two may have been, one being the Gulf of Mexico incident…Crude oil just doesn’t explode without being deliberately set…remember those old movies when they found oil in Texas/Oklahoma? Guys standing under the rain of oil…you have to refine it to get it to burn easily…I guess we’ll have to see…first cap the dang thing! Shove a submarine into it if you must, but cap it!

    I’ll be off and on the next two weeks, with activities at church, and then mid-June, we’re going to the Philippines…the two middle weeks of June, I should say.

    • Rinth de Shadley
      May 3, 2010 at 7:21 pm

      Hi David —

      Thank you for the good luck! The New York bomb was obviously terrorism but I had not heard anything about the other two being terrorism. Anything is possible, I suppose. I’ll have to take your word about the old movies. 🙂

      Have a wonderful time with your church activities and trip to the Philippines. Stay safe!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

