Home > Life, Neuroscience and Psychology, School > Our Little Life is Rounded with a Sleep

Our Little Life is Rounded with a Sleep

My life, anyway.

I’m making good progress on an assignment that’s due after mid-semester break, but I am just too tired to finish it tonight. At least I got most of it done, and reached the point where I was sure I understood everything.

I usually have pretty good dreams, at least the ones I remember. Nobody’s totally sure why we dream, or why we sleep for that matter. There are lots of theories.  But I notice that everything seems to have a complement: day/night, woman/man, up/down, movement/rest … After nerve cells fire, they have to rest for a while. Same with us. We’re awake, and then we have to sleep. Kind of frustrating sometimes when there’s lots to do and most of it’s fun.

But dreams can be fun, too. I know who I want to dream about tonight … 🙂

  1. March 17, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Had a dream last night that I was in an elevator with the head of NBC and was telling him that I could no longer continue as producer for The Tonight Show because, “…I don’t have the chops for live television.”

    No idea what it means. I’m an out of work software development manager. A wish? I don’t think so.

    • Rinth de Shadley
      March 17, 2010 at 12:33 pm

      Hi Kvatch —

      I was in the elevator behind you. After you got off, the head of NBC said he knew you were really leaving so you could work on Conan O’Brien’s new show. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Jen
    March 20, 2010 at 11:53 am

    I hate that I have to make time to sleep. Sometime I just want to keep going with what I’m doing. Sleep is for the week!

    That’s how I feel at night anyway, by the morning; all I want to do is sleep. Nocturnal I guess.

    • Rinth de Shadley
      March 20, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      Hi Jen!

      I’m the same way. I hate going to bed (usually). But that’s partly coffee and Diet Coke talking. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

