Home > Life, Neuroscience and Psychology, School > MCAT Yes, Med School Maybe

MCAT Yes, Med School Maybe

Well, it’s official: I’m taking the Medical College Admission Test. If I apply to medical school, it would be for fall 2011, so I need to take it this spring.

I’m not really sure that I want to go to medical school, but the MCAT is just another test. This way, I’ll have my score ready if I need it. The test has two sections on science, one for reasoning, and one for writing. I suppose I should get a test prep guide and see what I’m up against.

I’ve always admired the way some doctors help people and care about their patients. But I’m not sure I could handle it emotionally.

It’s okay when your treatment works and your patient gets better. But even with the best treatment, sometimes that doesn’t happen. I know that you have to care about your patients but keep from getting too involved. Otherwise, it would tear you apart when a patient suffered and/or died. Then you couldn’t be a good doctor for the rest of your patients. So you have to be tough and I don’t know if I’m that tough.

Maybe I’ll go into research. I could do that. Or dermatology, something that is helpful but less life-or-death. Or write books. Or lose 15 pounds and become a model. There are lots of options.

P.S. All right, all right: 20 pounds. I’m not admitting to any number higher than that. πŸ™‚


Copyright 2010 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. March 13, 2010 at 3:25 am

    Go for it Rinth. Best of luck and my best wishes for you.
    Bob A.

    • Rinth de Shadley
      March 13, 2010 at 7:28 pm

      Hi, Bob πŸ™‚

      Thank you for the encouragement! We’ll see …

  2. March 20, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Your mom will hate me for saying this….but school is WAY too expensive to just go because it seems like life’s next step. Yes have your MCAT score ready, but if you aren’t convinced that medical school is where you want to be then it sounds like you need to do some more research and spend a bit more time in the medical field. Good luck with your life choices. πŸ™‚

    • Rinth de Shadley
      March 20, 2010 at 3:53 pm

      Hi Gwenevere!

      That’s good advice. I think that my Mom would agree with you, and so do I. But in my family, if I don’t get some kind of graduate degree, everyone will be Very Disappointed. πŸ™‚

  3. March 24, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    lol, what if you go into dermatology and you have to tell your patient they have skin cancer. Just kidding, good luck with the MCAT!

    • Rinth de Shadley
      March 24, 2010 at 4:53 pm

      Hi, MCAT-Review —

      Thank you for the encouragement! I’ll check out your site.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

