Home > Neuroscience and Psychology, School, science > Scientific American Confirms My Study Tips!

Scientific American Confirms My Study Tips!

I swear that I didn’t know about this before writing my recent blog on how to get good grades. 🙂

One of the tips I gave in that blog was this: After I study something for a class, I always test myself on it to see how much I understood and remembered.

When I do these self-tests, I often get the answers wrong. But I don’t worry about it because my mistakes help me learn the right answers. When the real test comes in the class, I’ve already practiced answering questions about the material. And I know the right answers.

When I wrote that blog, all I could really say was, “It works for me. It might work for you.”

Apparently, it works for most people. The new issue of Scientific American Mind has an article that says

Pupils actually learn better if conditions are arranged so that they have to make errors.

It’s not quite that simple, of course, but it’s a great article. An excerpt is on the Scientific American Web site. The complete article is in the magazine, which I like a lot.


Copyright 2010 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

