Home > Life, School > Finding a Wise Quote Before Bed

Finding a Wise Quote Before Bed

I wanted to blog something really wise before going to bed, but there’s a problem. I don’t say that many wise things.

Probably the wisest thing I’ve said lately was “no” to a party at Amherst last night. I later heard that it was fun but got wild and went pretty late. Instead, I just stayed around campus, danced, and had fun with friends.

So, something wise … I found a good quote from Friedrich von Schiller, in his play about Joan of Arc: “Against stupidity, the gods themselves fight in vain.” Probably true, but not very inspirational.

Of course, Joan herself is supposed to have said as her last words, “Yes, my voices were of God. My voices have not deceived me.” Kind of inspirational, I guess, but what else are you going to say when you’re about to be burned at the stake?

In the TV series “Joan of Arcadia,” the worst thing that Joan had to face was being committed to a “crazy camp” for the summer. Well, that and being accosted by God in various guises during every episode. Though I guess that being accosted by God is a good thing. Even so, it would still change your plans for the day.

OK, here’s a really good one from Helen Keller, the blind and deaf woman who became a famous author: “Many persons have a wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness. It is not attained through self-gratification but through fidelity to a worthy purpose.”

I like that. Now I can go to bed. 🙂


Copyright 2010 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

