Home > feminism, Life > Dressing 10 Pounds Thinner

Dressing 10 Pounds Thinner

I’ve already admitted that I gained a little weight last semester. Not whale-scale, and not even hippopotamus-hips, but enough that some of my clothes are a little tight. And not just where they should be. 🙂

So what to do?

Diet is one thing, and I’m doing it. But until that works, Glamour Magazine has the solution: “How to Dress 10 Pounds Thinner.”

Let’s see if I can do at least a few of the things they suggest.

Match everything you wear

Pants or skirt, stockings and shoes. “You’ll seem 10 pounds lighter if they’re all black!”

Check. I’ve even got the all-black wardrobe from my obligatory goth fashion obsession a while back.

Accentuate your smallest part

Don’t wear full and round shapes around your full and round shapes. “Always accentuate your smallest part by pairing your more generously cut pieces with a snugger mate.”

My smallest part? Uhh … my feet? 🙂

Somehow, I don’t think that’s going to work. I’m pretty much mostly full and round shapes, especially at the moment.

Wear a tapered jacket

I’m not so sure about this one. I have a tapered jacket something like the one in Glamour’s photo, and it makes me look fat. Maybe it’s because I’m not a model who’s already thin enough that she doesn’t need to look 10 pounds thinner. 🙂

Choose shapely skirts

OK, at least now I feel better. Glamour is one of the magazines that is using some more normal-sized models. Just looking at the photo of this one made me feel thinner. I hope that didn’t sound snarky about the model. The camera adds 10 pounds anyway.

Hmmm. I’m kind of hungry, too … no, I’ll be good.  Anyway, I need to do some reading. Ttfn!


Copyright 2010 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. January 7, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    It’s brave of you to post that you’re feeling negatively about yourself, but I wonder if you really feel bad? Or if “Glamour” is making you feel bad?? Just be careful of those mags; they’re E-V-I-L. And not just because the writing is bad… ha ha.

    Anyway, my advice (that I rarely follow myself) is to find a workout plan you can live with–running 3 times a week did it for me about a year ago, but it could be anything from yoga to a gym–and then eat what you want. A) you won’t WANT to eat anything that’s going to make your exercise difficult, but B) you’ll be able to splurge every now and then without regretting it.

    Before I started running, when people talked about exercise, I always rolled my eyes. I wanted to have my cake and eat it, too. But since starting running, I’ve realized that food takes control away from you, and exercise gives it back. As a control freak, that made me very happy. 😉

    Happy New Year! I hope you can be who you want to be!!

    • Rinth de Shadley
      January 7, 2010 at 6:03 pm

      Hi, Lee Lee —

      Thank you for the supportive comment!

      I wouldn’t say that I’m really feeling negative, just a few pounds over what I’d like. It seems like I’ve always been on a diet, but it was easier to stay thin in high school. My diet has changed a little but not that much. And I’ve never been able to make myself, you know, regurgitate, so that’s not a solution even if it were a healthy thing to do.

      But you’re right about exercise! In fact, that’s one of my New Year’s resolutions. I do exercise but not long enough or every day.

      You’re also right about Glamour (and Vogue, Teen Vogue, etc.), but I keep reading them anyway. They have a lot of good information if you ignore the unrealistically thin images and objectification.

      Happy New Year to you, too! I’ll keep reading your wonderful Web site 30POV.com. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

