Home > Dating, Life, School > The Neuroscience of Dating and Ice Cream

The Neuroscience of Dating and Ice Cream

Yes, I did get some ice cream on Mountain Day. More than I should have eaten. But I had to eat it, you understand, because I didn’t want to flout our school’s sacred traditions. 🙂

On the other hand, I didn’t get much else done. And my classes have to come first, which is why I haven’t blogged for a few days.

I had a nice date last night, including a chance to put my neuroscience education to good use. After dinner and conversation, my date initiated  contact, so I stimulated his parasympathetic nervous system. That made him very agreeable and focused on the situation at hand.

Me on my date. It's not a good picture. I was having a bad hair day.

Me on my date. It’s not a good picture. I was having a bad hair day.

Then, I gradually activated his sympathetic nervous system until it finally overwhelmed his parasympathetic nervous system. That put a big smile on his face and he got kind of sleepy while I wiped off my hand with a tissue. It was sticky because I ate a piece of candy. Why? What did you think I meant?

As for me, my amygdala was nice and happy so everything was okay there, too. I don’t believe that my date knew any of the relevant neuroscience, but it all worked fine anyway.

And now, I  have another hour or two of studying before bed. Ttys!


Copyright 2009 by Rinth de Shadley.


  1. October 6, 2009 at 2:22 am

    Are you absolutely sure your amygdala was exhibiting joy and nit fear? or eeven perhaps just lust?

    Hard to tell, what?

  2. Rinth de Shadley
    October 6, 2009 at 3:27 am

    In the photo, it looks like it’s smiling.

    You’re right that the amygdala is involved in handling fear. In women, the amygdala generally needs to be nice and quiet before the rest of the process can get going. That’s one reason it takes us longer … to get ready for a date, of course. Why? What else did you think I meant? 🙂

  3. October 9, 2009 at 3:51 am

    That is exactly what I thought!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

