Home > News, Politics > Hillary Clinton Gives the Right Answer

Hillary Clinton Gives the Right Answer

I supported Hillary Clinton for president last year. I’m sorry that she lost the nomination to President Obama, though he’s doing a fine job. She would have done a fine job, too.

However, it bugs me that the news media are still portraying Hillary unfairly now that she’s Secretary of State.

Consider the no-win situation she faced when answering a question at an event in the Congo. She had been visiting Africa to find out how America could help combat the war, poverty, famine, and disease that cause so much suffering there. At the event, she was asked:

We’ve all heard about the Chinese contracts in this country. The interference is from the World Bank against this contract. What does Mr. Clinton think through the mouth of Mrs. Clinton … ?

There are two ways Hillary could have answered that question. Only two. Either way, she would have been criticized.

First, she could have explained what her husband, former President Bill Clinton, thought about the situation.

If she had done that, the news media would have screamed that she had to ask her husband for guidance because she didn’t know anything. Women are so ditzy, you know.

Second, she could have answered as she did:

Wait, you want me to tell you what my husband thinks? My husband is not secretary of state, I am. If you want my opinion, I will tell you my opinion. I am not going to be channeling my husband.

In that case, they couldn’t call her a ditz or an ignoramus, so they called her a bitch.

If those are the only choices, then I’ll pass on being a ditz or an ignoramus. I want to be a bitch like Hillary.


Copyright 2009 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. Cass
    August 13, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    well said! and actually I read that the student who asked the question was nervous and meant to ask what did President Obama think not what did Bill think. I guess he talked to her after the conference and bygones were bygones and all that stuff. I still think she responded exactly as she should have.

    • Rinth
      August 13, 2009 at 11:54 pm

      Thank you! I read the same thing about the student, but it was after I wrote the blog. I’ve just come from taking my final exam for the summer school class. It was hard, but I think I did okay. We’ll see. I hope that you are having a wonderful, blessed day. 🙂

      • Cass
        August 14, 2009 at 5:50 am

        ah… thanks you too

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

