Home > Life > The Female Brain on Chocolate

The Female Brain on Chocolate

That’s me right after we had a nice birthday dinner to celebrate my 20th, with carry-out Thai food and chocolate cake for dessert. And because it was my birthday, I stopped on the way home from my summer school class for a chocolate donut and half a muffin. I am feeling really good but I will need to diet for the rest of the week. And I’m so tranked on chocolate that I can barely write this.

What prompted the blog title about the female brain is that it’s the title of a book I got as a present: The Female Brain by Louann Brizendine, MD. At first, I thought it might be an owner’s manual because I happen to have one of those brains right inside my head. But it’s actually a very interesting discussion of how different hormone levels and brain structures cause women and men to feel and act differently. I started reading it right away. I laughed out loud when I got to the chapter about the “Teen Girl Brain,” because I thought that the author must have had my house bugged for the last 10 years. It was that true to life. I’m about 45 pages into it and I want to write more about it later.

As another birthday present, Mom gave me a shopping spree to get some new clothes for school this year. Even though she is paying for them, she is very specifically not going along when I buy them. She has her opinions about what I wear, but she knows I’m old enough to decide for myself. Which I am. Thank goodness we’ve finally got that established. So my BFF Sarah and I are going to the mall on Saturday and will pick out some things. Of course, my mother will still be there — not physically but inside my female brain, as a little voice telling me which outfits are okay to wear and which would “make me look trashy” (which, only occasionally, is just the look I’m going for 🙂 ).


Copyright 2009 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. Cass
    August 7, 2009 at 6:27 am

    Happy Belated Birthday!!!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog too 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

