Home > Life > Global warming and “saggy breasts”? Oh, no!

Global warming and “saggy breasts”? Oh, no!

“A bent spine might mean back problems, a big protruding belly, and saggy breasts.”

Oh, great. So global warming, the economy, and all the relationships on “Gossip Girl” weren’t enough for us to worry about?

Now, it turns out that our mothers were right about sitting up straight. According to this article, bad posture can have some pretty scary effects.

I watch what I eat, even though I’m currently 12 pounds over my high school weight. I exercise every day, though not as obsessively as I did the week I got hypnotized — see my earlier blog article about that. But my mother and grandmother have always nagged me about my posture. They are mainly concerned that I not be rude, but it turns out that there are even more important reasons for it.

The article gives three ways to minimize the problem:

  1. “Always sit as tall as you can.” I don’t do this. I tend to slouch and slide all over the chair. So I’m going to work on it.
  2. “Do an exercise called the hip raise daily.” I’m going to start doing this. You lie on your back with knees bent, feet flat on the floor, and arms at your sides. Then raise your hips until your body is straight from your knees to your shoulders.
  3. “Stretch your chest.” I already do this whenever a cute guy walks into the room. 🙂  But to do it as a fitness exercise, you put your hands on the sides of a doorway and walk through until you feel the stretch in your chest.

The article also gives the usual advice about eating right. Fortunately, it doesn’t say to avoid chocolate. I’m not giving that up.


Copyright 2009 by Rinth de Shadley.

Categories: Life Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

