Home > Life, Movies and TV > Taylor Momsen gets real

Taylor Momsen gets real

I often wonder what celebrities are really like and how much of their image is manufactured (probably most of it). But Taylor Momsen, who stars on the TV series “Gossip Girl” and has a band called “Pretty Reckless,” seems like the real thing.

Taylor is interviewed in this month’s issue of Teen Vogue. She says things that sound like they come from her heart, not from what her publicist told her to say. Sometimes, it’s very wise (meaning that I agree with it, so I naturally think it’s “wise”). Sometimes, she comes off a little snarky. But she always comes off as open and sincere.

Talking about her music, she says that “The most obvious thing is to look at me and say, ‘Oh, pretty blonde girl, let’s put her in pop.'”

A lot of pop music is as artificial as those snack cakes you get at the convenience store. But Taylor wants to make her own kind of music. Her inspirations include two of my own favorites, Joan Jett and Blondie, who always went their own way and let other people follow them. Taylor thinks that her music is “rock, but with pop hooks.”

Taylor also talks about a problem that we all have at times: “People misinterpret what I say. They think I’m being offensive, when really, I’m only being opinionated.”

Some people still believe that women shouldn’t have opinions about anything important — or if we do, we should keep our mouths shut about them. We should just “stand still and look pretty.” I’m not against standing still, especially if my date has gone to get me a drink. And I’m definitely not against looking pretty. But I’m still going to say what I believe.

And I believe that it’s time to get going with the day. ttfn!


Copyright 2009 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

