Home > Life, Movies and TV, News, Politics > I want to have Rachel Maddow’s baby

I want to have Rachel Maddow’s baby

I want to have Rachel Maddow’s baby.

Well, maybe not. There are some obstacles, even though Rachel is one of my heroes and role models.

Rachel is a political commentator on MSNBC, where she hosts “The Rachel Maddow Show.” She’s funny, smart, and has a doctorate in political science from Oxford University in England. She is also very pretty in an offbeat way. I love how she gets kind of a half-smile when she’s making an important argument. If I can get to know as much as she does, be as witty as she is, and can duplicate that half-smile, then I will feel as if I’ve made it.

Of course, Rachel is also a lesbian. I’m fine with that, though I’m not a lesbian myself. A couple of my friends at school are what we call LUGs — “lesbians until graduation.” And yes, I have kissed a girl, more than once, but it doesn’t mean the same thing to us as it does to guys. It’s about friendship and emotional intimacy, unless you’re a lesbian, in which case it means a bit more as well.

Rachel also has a partner, Susan Mikula, with whom she’s been for 10 years. So I suppose that even if she wanted a baby, I wouldn’t be her first choice to have it.

Okay, forget about the baby. But I’ll still watch Rachel’s show on MSNBC. And I’m still trying to learn that half-smile.


Copyright 2009 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

