Home > Life, Neuroscience and Psychology > We Can’t Read Minds

We Can’t Read Minds

I had a thought.

No, it’s not the first time that has happened. Shut up. :)

I was angry at someone this morning because she said something that I thought “was meant to hurt me.”

But then I realized: Apart from what she actually said, I don’t know what she meant. It might have been just a careless remark. I have no way of knowing what was in her mind.

A lot of times we get upset because of what we assume about what other people are thinking, what they intend, or how they feel about us. But we have no first-hand way to know any of that.

Here’s what I think. When someone says or does something that we could interpret in a bad way — but which we could also interpret in a good way — then we should interpret it in the good way until and unless that’s proven wrong.

We will be happier and have more peace of mind. It’s also fairer to the other people.

And one other note: This is my 193rd blog post. I’d like to make it to 200 posts by graduation. If I can, I’ll post some graduation photos and thoughts for my 200th blog post.


Copyright 2011 by Rinth de Shadley.

  1. April 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Hi Rinth,
    I visit your site after every post and comment but seldom comment myself. I would ask that you visit this post of mine, think about it, please comment there and post and pass on as you will.
    Angels. Are there Angels among us? I say yes.

    http://boudicabpi.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/angels-are-there-angels-among-us-i-say-yes/

    Bob A.

    • April 28, 2011 at 9:50 pm

      Hi Bob,

      I read your blog post and it’s very moving. I’m glad that you have an angel looking after you.

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  2. eva626
    April 28, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    i do that all the time…and i am shameful about it too!…o0o your graduating!? nice …have fun in life rinth!!

  3. May 24, 2011 at 3:06 am

    Actually i also have this annoying habit of assuming stuff without any verification. at the end the only one affected is you yourself *sighs*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

